Ahmad Lawan defeats Ali Ndume to become Senate President

Senator Ahmad Lawan has emerged the new Senate President to lead the 9th Senate. This was after an election that saw him defeat his rival Ali Ndume.

Ahmad Lawan got 79 votes while Ali Ndume got 28. The voting took place today at the National Assembly with all stakeholders gathered.

Ahmad Lawan emerged the new Senate President despite endorsement of Ali Ndume from the opposition party the PDP who issued the statement seen below.

Press Statement
June 10, 2019

Nass Leadership: PDP Endorses Ali Ndume, Umar Bago

The National Working Committee (NWC) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) after very extensive consultations with critical stakeholders resolves to support Senator Ali Ndume and Hon. Umar Mohammed Bago for Senate President and Speaker of House of Representatives respectively, ahead of National Assembly inauguration on Tuesday.
The final resolution on Senator Ndume and Hon. Bago was reached at the end of a decisive meeting of members of the National Working Committee, party leaders, state governors as well as senators and members-elect on the platform of the PDP.

This decision is in the best interest of the nation, in line with our party’s determination to deepen democracy, ensure a strong and independent legislature, strict compliance with the principle of separation of powers as well as constitutional checks and balances in the polity.

All senators and members-elect on the platform of the PDP are to be guided accordingly.

Sen. Umar Ibrahim Tsauri
National Secretary

Similar Articles:

Read Also!  7 Farmers Allegedly Cut with Machetes in Herders/Farmers Clash In Araro, Oyo Community

For the latest updates, Follow us on Facebook- @9jaunlocked, Twitter- @9jaunlocked and Instagram- 9jaunlocked